White Hall Progress logo

Subscribe to Sports RSS feed


White Hall Bulldogs preview

White Hall’s 2014 season was full of close games, and the Bulldogs’ overall record was 5-6. In five of those six losses the margin of victory was seven points or fewer. One big play could have been the difference between a win or loss for the Bulldogs many times last season.

Having already clinched, White Hall falls to Kentucky

Just before its last game of pool play in the Babe Ruth 14-year-old World Series, White Hall was informed that it finished third in the American Division and had qualified for bracket play. Even though the team could have used the game against Franklin, Kentucky, as a momentum builder, the coaches decided to rest their pitchers and switch up their normal lineup a little.

White Hall drops extra-inning thriller to New Jersey

Atlantic Shore, New Jersey, was definitely playing with a purpose during Tuesday’s Babe Ruth 14-year-old World Series game at Taylor Field. That purpose was to stay undefeated in American Division pool play, and it did just that by beating White Hall by the score of 5-4 in 10 innings.

White Hall looks to replace graduated seniors

The White Hall Bulldogs are on the football field for fall practice working hard every single day. Last season they posted a 5-6 record, and in the offseason they’ve had to replace 10 starters from the offensive side of the ball. Therefore, the Bulldogs are looking to reload quickly instead of rebuilding slowly.

State Champions

White Hall took home the 15-year-old Junior Babe Ruth South Arkansas state tournament championship after winning seven straight elimination games. The team defeated McGehee twice on Wednesday to win the tourney, which was played in Camden. White Hall will travel to Dumas, Texas, to play in the Southwest Regional tournament, beginning on Friday, July 24. Those pictured are: front row (from left), Walker Bailey, Zach Harbison, Remington Curtis, Tyler Greer, Bryce Kincaid, Carson Alexander and Sam West; and back row, coach Chris Dennis, coach Bob Bailey, Garrett Dennis, Ryan Ruff, Dutton Day, Layne Hartsfield, Colby Bayird and manager Ray Harbison. (Special to The Commercial)