White Hall Progress logo

Subscribe to Education RSS feed


Choir Happening A Success

One hundred and thirty students from the White Hall High School Choir program took the stage Saturday night at the Pine Bouff Convention Center to present the 2014 Choir Happening: “Heroes and Villains.”

Gandy Students Honored

December’s Students of the Month at Gandy Elementary School were (bottom row, from left) Ahnaf Tahmid, Abby Harrison, Lily White, Cruz Dixon, Jayden Gipson; (middle row) Brayden Smith, Juliana Drumgoole, Maci Poe, Kaylea Neal; (top row) Noah Smith, Gauge Yelton, Piper Smith, Aubrey Dutil, and Briauna Jackson. Not pictured are Maddy Spradlin, Bryson Dickerson, Braylon Johnson.

School Gets A New Life

WHITE HALL - A landmark, 75-year -old school building contstructed in 1939 by the federal Works Pregress Administration is on its way to a new life as a Redfield community center. The former Redfield Middle School - closed at the end of the 2012-13 academic year by the White Hall School Board - was cleared by the panel last week for immediate sale to the Keep Redfiled Middle School citizens group. The organization, which listed Todd Dobbins as its president, was the high bidder on the building at $70,112.

UAPB to offer new online courses

The Master of Science Degree in Addiction Studies Program and the Office of Graduate Studies and Continuing Education (GSCE) at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UAPB) will offer two new Graduate level online courses beginning the Spring 2013 semester. The courses are:

Other Christmas Customs

Gandy 4th graders recently spent time researching Christmas customs in various countries around the world. Students demonstrated their knowledge gleaned from research (which consisted if Internet, books, magazines an in some cases — people) by writing essays and giving oral presentations. Many students created decorations used in their country and some even prepared unusual traditional foods served during Christmas.

UAM to host orientation

MONTICELLO — The University of Arkansas at Monticello will host an orientation session Jan. 7 beginning at 12:30 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center for all new students planning to attend the Monticello campus in the spring semester.

Gandy Students of the Month

Students of the Month for October at Gandy are: From bottom to top: bottom row: Addisyn Chism, Bryson Dickerson, M'Kinlee Agee; second row: Alex Pogue, Katie Hansen, Madison Henderson, Juel Nicholson; third row: Presley Chism, Kamryn McEntire, Aryan Patel, Kush Patel; top row: Drake McNeese, Isaac Pittillo, Eli Pierce. Not pictured is Bethlynn Kobeney.