Subscribe to Sports RSS feed


Through the use of my own sports machine …

On a summer night like tonight, when I was much younger, I was lucky enough to stay up past 10:30, just in time to watch “The George Michael Sports Machine.” It was basically a 30-minute national and world sports roundup hosted by the late Washington, D.C., sportscaster — no, not the pop singer — designed for homes like mine that didn’t have access to “SportsCenter.” It aired Sunday nights from 1984-2007 in syndication.

Coaches’ poll resonates more than previous ones

LITTLE ROCK — Spotted in January, a way-too-early Top 25 began with TCU. Another one in May was risk-free, endorsing Ohio State. Both were dismissed out of hand. Available online and in various publications, other predictions were given a cursory glance at best.

First-Year Champions

The Arkansas Lady Cardinals won the Hoop Play National Championship in their first year of existence. The tournament was held the weekend of July 18-19 in Russellville. The team is comprised of eighth-, ninth- and 10th-graders from Watson Chapel, Pine Bluff, Dollarway, Jack Robey Junior High, Rison, Star City and Woodlawn. The Lady Cardinals lost their first game of the tourney to the Arkansas Sting by 15 points, and then defeated the Arkansas Chaos by 10. The team finished pool play with a 1-2 record after losing by five points to the Tennessee Team Dez. In bracket play, the Lady Cardinals knocked off the Arkansas Storm, 36-24. In the semifinals, edged out the Arkansas Hoyas, 39-35. The Lady Cardinals won a defensive battle with the Arkansas Intensity, 27-26, to win the championship. Those pictured are, first row from left, head coach Yolanda Scott, Amber Witherspoon, Kyamber Jackson, Kyaira Jackson and Jada Anderson; second row, Tymesha Cole, Sarah J. Linsy, Sana Ragland, Kierrie Brice, T’aja Williams and Kyaira Brice. Coaches Demetrice Nelson, left, and Charles Witherspoon are in the back row.

Mizzou wraps up season

FAYETTEVILLE — You can probably count on one hand how many things are intimidating about the Missouri football program. The stadium is a concrete jungle. The players, save a couple every now and again, aren’t quite the caliber as at most of the rest of the Southeastern Conference. The system is ordinary.

Back-to-Back Champions

The Pine Bluff Twins Elite All-Stars defeated Lonoke 13-3 on Wednesday to win their second straight Senior Babe Ruth state championship in El Dorado. The Twins went undefeated in bracket play, beating Union County 7-4 and Lonoke 7-3 before Wednesday’s final. The Twins will represent the Arkansas South in the Southwest Regional Senior Babe Ruth tournament July 17-21 in Rogers. Team members include: front from left, Brandon Little, Braylon Jones, Kirel Young, J’Mar Johnson, Adam Graham and Kenneth Gatewood; back row from left, statistician Stanley Jones, Bernard Black, coach Dave Thompson, student coach Ti’Montai Bolden, Jordan O’Guinn Ja’Kobi Jackson, Jaylon DeShazier, Michael Roberts, Jaylen Jackson and manager Ernest Wooten. Not picutred: Tre Harris, Landen Colson, coach Derrick Doolittle, Kenny Starks, Marcus Toney, student coach Trevor Langford and director of baseball operations Cameo Stokes. (Special to The Commercial)

Mrs. Nutt’s typing class

Tenth grade was special for me and one of the reasons was that I would be taking typing. It was my first real high school course. It meant I was coming of age by learning a grown-up skill to use after graduation.