Subscribe to Local RSS feed


Several locals to participate in Future Stars Showcase

Many of the top prospects in Southeast Arkansas and the entire state who are in the high school senior classes of 2016 and 2017 will attend the first PRO-DAY Arkansas Future Stars Showcase at Taylor Field and go through a professional workout and/or evaluations in front of coaches and professional scouts.

Sheridan places five on AHSCA all-star rosters

CONWAY — Five Sheridan athletes lead the Arkansas High School Coaches Association All-Star rosters, announced Wednesday by the Arkansas Activities Association. The games, which feature only seniors, will take place at the University of Central Arkansas.

Trap team takes third

White Hall’s Junior 8 trap team placed third last weekend in the junior high division of the Arkansas Youth Shooting Sports Program’s south regional tournament. Pictured from left: AYSSP coordinator Chuck Woodson, Sam West, Tyler Caple, coach Jason Rogers, Buck Horton, coach Roland Barthet, Garrett Green, coach Trey Buckner and Michael Kalkbrenner. Caple was one of four junior shooters to tally perfect scores.

Mustangs are state champions

The Arkansas Mustangs won the AAU Division II state tournament in Little Rock, held April 24-26. The team is preparing for its upcoming tournament in Memphis on May 15-17 and play in the national tournament, also to be in Memphis, from July 8-13. Team members include: kneeling from left, coaches Vincent Tate and Otis Johnson; front row standing from left, Dieundra Ellison, Jyrimee Thompson, McKinley Avery, Tavari Dixson, Chandler Tate, Carl Turner Jr.; back row standing from left, Caleb Sloan, Derrick Sloan Jr., Drayton Noble, Justin Tillar and D’Vonte Jackson.