Local players tabbed for basketball all-star games

Fresh off capturing The Commercial’s Southeast Arkansas Boys Player of the Year honor, Pine Bluff senior Roosevelt Murray was tabbed to participate in the Arkansas High School Coaches Association All-Star basketball game, as announced Wednesday.

Murray will face Dollarway’s Kabion Ento in the game, while Murray’s classmate Ajia Richardson will be the area’s lone representative in the girls’ contest.

Playing for the West team, the 6-foot-1 Murray will be coached by Tony Davis of Clarksville. The 6-foot-4 Ento will be under the direction of Jonesboro’s Wes Swift.

At 5-foot-6, Richardson will be tied for the shortest player on the West roster, which will be led by Farmington’s Brad Johnson.

The 59th edition of the all-star games will take place June 26 at the Farris Center on the campus of Central Arkansas.