Jones wins 4A Farm Bureau Award

Warren senior quarterback Drake Jones won the Farm Bureau Award for 4A offensive player of the year.

Jones was honored during a ceremony Monday night in North Little Rock. Offensive and defensive players of the year in each classification (7A and 6A were combined for this purpose) were honored, as well as coaches of the year. The winners were selected by the staff of Hooten’s Arkansas Football.

Jones has 2,264 yards and 26 touchdowns passing on the season for the Lumberjacks (10-3), who have won 10 straight. He rushed for all four of Warren’s touchdowns this past Friday in a 27-20 state semifinal victory against Valley View, leading the Lumberjacks to their first state final since 2006. Warren will take on Booneville, led by 4A defensive player of the year Cody Harrel, this Friday in Little Rock.

Jones is the only Southeast Arkansan to win a Farm Bureau Award this year. Other finalists for the 4A offensive award were Dollarway’s Joshua Liddell and Lincoln’s Tyler Cummings.

Jones’ coach, Bo Hembree, was a finalist for 4A coach of the year. That honor went to Valley View’s Shannon Sherman.

El Dorado’s Scott Reed, coming off a state championship win against Pine Bluff, was named 7A/6A coach of the year.

Other Farm Bureau Award winners:

In 7A/6A, Deandre Murray of Springdale (offense) and Jarvis Cooper of West Memphis (defense); in 5A, Toney Hawkins of Morrilton, Joey Rodriguez of Batesville (defense), and Cody McNabb of Morrilton (coach); in 3A, Chance Shelby of Charleston (offense), Jarrod Chandler of Barton (defense) and Mark Kehner of Glen Rose (coach); and in 2A, Austin Kirkpatrick of Gurdon (offense), Bo Weddle of Carlisle (defense) and Dustin Prescott of Des Arc (coach).