Bryant’s bid to stay in South dismissed

LITTLE ROCK — A Pulaski County Circuit Court judge Wednesday dismissed the Bryant School District’s case for a preliminary and permanent injunction against the Arkansas Activities Association to keep Bryant High School from moving from its current 7A/6A-South Conference to the more travel-heavy 7A/6A-Central for the 2014-16 reclassification cycle.

In an eight-page decision, Judge Mary Spencer McGowan ruled that neither Bryant’s proposal to remain the only 7A school in the South Conference nor removing one of Little Rock high schools to join the South, Hall and Parkview, would be in accordance with AAA rules. According to the decision, the AAA’s 7A/6A reclassification committee in October 2012 recommended that the West Conference include only eight 7A schools, the South include eight 6A schools, and the Central and East conferences each include four 6A and four 7A teams.

Pine Bluff and Sheridan compete with Bryant in the South.

McGowan said Bryant’s request to remain in the South would result in no conference games counting toward postseason participation and seeding purposes. A power ranking formula, however, is used for the current classification model.

Bryant also cited concerns for heavy travel in the Central, which will include Alma, Little Rock Catholic/Mount St. Mary, Conway, Greenwood, Russellville, Siloam Springs and Van Buren. McGowan ruled if either Hall or Parkview were to compete in the Central for 2014-16, it might face similar challenges in travel.