7 from area named All-Stars

Seven local football players were selected to participate in the 2014 Arkansas High School Coaches Association All-Star game.

Southeast Arkansas will be well-represented on the East squad for the 59th edition of the game.

Quarterback Drake Jones and linebacker Kendric Newton of 4A runner-up Warren will play for the East.

Jones — an All-Southeast Arkansas first-team selection — threw for 2,458 yards and 26 touchdowns, while rushing for 458 yards and 13 touchdowns. Newton, who was named to the All-SEARK’s second-team defense, finished the season with 105 tackles and 1 1/2 sacks.

Dollarway’s quarterback Joshua Liddell — the 2013 SEARK Offensive Player of the Year — and teammate Nicholas Woodfork will join Jones, Newton and Rison’s Tristan Ward under Hoxie head coach Tom Sears.

Liddell, who accounted for 2,400-plus yards and 37 total touchdowns, helped lead the Cardinals to the 4A semifinals and their first undefeated regular season since 1992. Woodfork, an All-SEARK first-team offensive lineman, recorded 54 pancake blocks.

Ward was a force on the defensive line for Clay Totty’s Wildcats. Ward — a SEARK second-team choice — finished the year with 47 tackles (22 solo), five sacks, two forced fumbles and nine QB pressures.

Pine Bluff’s Dasmine Johnson and Watson Chapel’s Josh Harris were selected to play for the West, which is coached by Morrilton head man Cody McNabb.

Johnson, who landed on the All-SEARK first-team defense, had 67 tackles, including 10 for loss and 4 1/2 sacks. Harris — an All-SEARK first-team selection — had 142 tackles (73 solo), 33 for loss, five sacks and two interceptions.

The West came back to win last year’s game, 16-13, when Vincent Love of Hope caught a 21-yard touchdown pass from El Dorado’s Lucas Reed with 27 seconds remaining.