Arkansas basketball players recognized at banquet

FAYETTEVILLE — The Arkansas basketball program recognized players with several individual awards during its annual banquet on Wednesday night.

Forwards Coty Clarke and Bobby Portis received the highest honors after being named the team’s most outstanding players. Clarke was recognized after finishing fourth in scoring (9.4 points a game), second in rebounds (5.6) and assists (2.4), and first in steals (1.5). Portis was honored after leading Arkansas in scoring (12.3 points), rebounding (6.8) and blocked shots (1.6)

Clarke also received the HAWG Award, which is presented to the player that fills up the box score. Portis also earned the team’s Rim Protector Award.

Other award winners Wednesday night included: Michael Qualls (Most Improved Player), Moses Kingsley (Iron Razorback Award, Most Improved Player), Kikko Haydar (Razorback Service Award), Fred Gulley (Razorback Coaches Award), Rickey Scott and Mardracus Wade (Heart of a Razorback Award).

Arkansas coach Mike Anderson also presented two players — Alandise Harris and Ky Madden — with his Apple Turnover awards. Madden and Harris finished first and second, respectively, in turnovers last season.