White Hall Progress logo

Board to review sites for National Register

LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider seven Arkansas properties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets at 10 a.m. on Aug. 7, at the Old State House Museum at 300 West Markham in Little Rock, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced.

Properties to be considered for National Register nomination are:

* Dunbar Historic District at Little Rock and Southern Trust Building at Little Rock in Pulaski County

* Camp House at Aplin in Perry County

* Hall-Hogan Grocery Store at Conway in Faulkner County

* Walnut Grove Cemetery at Cord in Independence County

* Thomas J. Hankins House at Pelsor in Pope County

* W.F. and Estelle McWilliams House at El Dorado in Union County.

The board also will consider the Hankins Country Store at Pelsor in Pope County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically noteworthy places that are not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to info@arkansaspreservation.org or visit www.arkansaspreservation.org.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.