White Hall Progress logo

Board seats not contested

While all seven positions on the White Hall School Board will be open in the Sept. 18 school election, don’t look for any contested races. Six of the seven incumbents filed for re-election without drawing a challenger and one at-large position had drawn only one candidate when the filing period ended at noon July 10.

The six incumbents who will not face a challenger:

Roy Agee, board secretary, represents Zone 1; board president Scott Pittillo, Zone 2; board vice president Scott Ray, Zone 3; director Dr. Raymond C Jones, Zone 4; board member Connie L. Medsker, Zone 5; and director Dean Dancer, at-large Zone 2.

Steve Brickey of Redfield, at-large Zone 1 incumbent, did not file for another term. D.J. Gossage Stacey, also of Redfield, filed for the board seat now held by Brickey.

At the first meeting of a new board of directors following the election, the members must draw lots to establish initial terms so an equal number of positions are filled each year and not more than two members’ terms expire each year.

The district underwent redistricting of the five zones following the 2010 federal census.