Kilbert named SWAC women’s coach of year

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — Nate Kilbert was honored for his turnaround of the Arkansas-Pine Bluff women’s basketball team with the SWAC Coach of the Year award Friday.

In his first season, Kilbert has led UAPB (11-17, 7-11 SWAC) to a 10-win improvement from last season. He came to UAPB after 11 seasons as the head man at Mississippi Valley State.

Two of Kilbert’s players were named all-conference Friday. Senior forward Chi Chi Okwumabua made the first team and senior guard LaKendra Marsh was placed on the third team.

Okwumabua and Marsh were the team’s scoring leaders with 11.7 and 11.3 points per game. Okwumabua also had a team-high 5.1 rebounds per game.

The conference honored Latia Williams of Prairie View A&M as the Player of the Year, Carolinsia Crumbly of Alcorn State as Defensive Player of the Year, Te’era Williams of Texas Southern as Freshman of the Year and Joanna Miller of Grambling State at Newcomer of the Year.

UAPB will play Alcorn State at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday in the SWAC tournament in Garland, Texas.

In men’s basketball, three UAPB players were named All-SWAC: senior center Terrell Kennedy to the first team, junior forward Davon Haynes to the second team and junior forward Daniel Broughton to the third team.

Kennedy led the Golden Lions with 13.3 points per game in his first season back since medically redshirting last year. Haynes, in his first season after transferring from Bowling Green, was second on the team in scoring at 11.9 and led in rebounding with 6.9 per game. Broughton averaged 7.2 points and 4.2 boards per game.

Other SWAC men’s honors went to Omar Strong of Texas Southern (Player of the Year) and his teammate Fred Sturdivant (Defensive Player of the Year), Malcolm Miller of Southern (Newcomer of the Year), Terry Rose of Grambling State (Freshman of the Year) and Mike Davis of Texas Southern and Roman Banks of Southern (Co-Coaches of the Year).