TD Club honors Anderson, Nixon, Brown

Arkansas-Pine Bluff sophomore quarterback Ben Anderson and Arkansas-Monticello junior wide receiver Jamal Nixon were named most valuable players for their respective teams by the Little Rock Touchdown Club.

The club also named Stuttgart senior quarterback Dontrell Brown its 4A state player of the year.

The three will be honored at the club’s ninth annual awards banquet at 11 a.m. Feb. 1 at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Little Rock. Honorees from all 11 football-playing colleges and universities from Arkansas, in addition to the top high school players and coaches from each classification, will be recognized at the banquet.

Anderson, the first-team All-SWAC quarterback, threw for 2,346 yards and 16 touchdowns. He was named the SWAC championship game’s most outstanding offensive player for his 225 passing yards, including a tying 95-yard touchdown pass to Willie Young, and one rushing touchdown, in a 24-21 overtime victory over Jackson State.

Nixon finished 2012 with 59 receptions for 771 yards and five touchdowns. His yardage ranked second in the Great American Conference.

Nixon twice eclipsed the 100-yard mark this season. His 212 yards against Arkansas Tech and 186 yards against Northwestern Oklahoma State sit atop the conference’s single-game chart this season.

Brown led Stuttgart to the 4A state championship this season. He totaled 1,577 yards and 16 touchdowns passing, and rushed for 1,420 yards and 20 more TDs.

— Commercial Press Services