SPEED qualifies 20 of 24 for nationals

Twenty of the 24 members of the Port City SPEED track club qualified for the AAU Junior Olympics meet during the Area 17 meet June 30-July 1 in Texarkana, Texas.

In order to qualify, athletes had to place in the top five of an event for their respective age class. SPEED qualifiers include:

First-place winners — Tyonna Hayes, 100 and 400 meters (14.06 seconds and 1:04.71); Henrietta Lever, long jump (11 feet, 9 inches); Akkeva Howard, shot put (32-11); 10-year-old girls 4x100-meter team (57.95); 12-year-old boys 4x400-meter team (5:11.08);

Second-place winners — Brevin Malone, 100 and 200 meters; Hampton Hall, 400 and long jump; Tyrus Evans, javelin; Chelsea Simmons, 200; Kimerra Handley, long jump;

Third-place winners — Hall, 200; LaGarrius Cartwright, 200; Kevin Crumpton, 400; Davion Collier, discus; Kavin Burnett, shot put, javelin; Simmons, 100; Taylor Nelson, 400; Lever, 400; Howard, discus;

Fourth-place winners — Cartwright, 400; 16-year-old girls 4x100-meter team; 16-year-old girls 4x400-meter team;

Fifth-place winners — Brevin Malone, 400; Collier, long jump; Praise Malone, 100; Handley, 100.

The AAU Junior Olympics will be July 29-Aug. 4 in Houston.