4 Hogs named preseason All-SEC

FAYETTEVILLE — The Arkansas Razorbacks placed three offensive players and a specialist on the preseason All-SEC football first team selected by the coaches.

All told, Arkansas has 10 players on the team, a total second only to 11 representatives for Western Division opponents Alabama and LSU.

Arkansas’ first team representatives include quarterback Tyler Wilson, running back Knile Davis, wide receiver Cobi Hamilton, and running back-kick returner Dennis Johnson.

Wilson led the SEC in passing last year, averaging almost 280 yards per game. Injured in 2011, Davis led all SEC runnng backs with 1,322 yards in 2010. Hamlton caught 34 passes last year for 542 yards and fourt touchdowns. Johnson is the SEC’s active career leader in all-purpose yards with 4,104, including three kick returns for touchdowns.

Arkansas is represented on the second team by tight end Chris Gragg, offensive guard Alvin Bailey and linebacker Alonzo Highsmith. On the third team are center Travis Swanson, punter Dylan Breeding and kicker Zach Hocker.

Highsmith is only Razorback defender on any of the three units.

Bailey, Swanson on

Outland Trophy watch list

FAYETTEVILLE — Arkansas juniors Alvin Bailey and Travis Swanson are on the Outland Trophy watch list, the UA said Thursday.

Bailey has started all 26 games of his collegiate career at guard and Swanson has done the same at center. In 2011, the line helped the offense break 16 game or season school records.

Presented to the best interior offensive lineman in college football, the Outland Trophy winner is chosen from among three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-American team. The finalists will be named Nov. 19 and members of the FWAA All-American Committee will pick the winner, who will be announced Dec. 6 on a college football awards show.