PB’s Murray, 4x100 girls victorious

RUSSELLVILLE — Chalk up two more state championships for Ty’Chianna Murray.

The Pine Bluff sophomore won the 100-meter hurdles and helped the 4x100-meter team repeat as champion Friday in the 6A state meet at Russellville High School. Murray helped Pine Bluff finish sixth in girls’ team standings with 55 points.

Murray won her hurdles race with a time of 16.16 seconds, finishing almost a half-second ahead of Alisha Hawthorne of Jonesboro. Only 0.34 second separated Hawthorne from the seventh-place runner.

In the 4x100, Pine Bluff clocked in at 51.04 seconds, 0.52 ahead of Jonesboro.

Jessica Bowers, Kristina McKnight, Khalia Everett and Murray made up the winning team with Endya Allen as an alternate.

Pine Bluff finished second in the 4x400 at 4:12.51, coming within 1.43 seconds of Little Rock Parkview, and took third in the 4x800 (10:59.78).

Sheridan’s Kaylee Stewart came in second in the 1,600-meter run with a time of 5:40.53. She was more than 14 seconds behind winner Angel Crawford of Lake Hamilton.

Another Sheridan athlete, Sarah Micheal, placed sixth in the pole vault.

Other finishes for Pine Bluff’s girls: in the 200, Allen was fourth and Murray fifth; in the 400, Shakema Haynes was seventh; in the 800, Diamon Dixson was sixth; and in the high jump, Chantaneice Taylor was fifth.

In boys action, Kyran Simmons had the best finish of the day for Pine Bluff, as did the 4x100 team. Simmons took second in the 400 with a time of 50.44 seconds. He was 1.13 seconds behind Eric Nathaniel of Parkview.

The 4x100 race was a lot closer, as Little Rock Hall won in 44.21 seconds. Pine Bluff’s time was 44.55.

Deandre Gridley did not repeat as 300-meter hurdles champion, but took third in both that race and the 110 hurdles.

Also for the Zebras, the 4x400 team was fourth; Lamarcus Taggart took fourth and Tyrone Payne fifth in the high jump; and Jamison Murray was fourth in the discus throw.

Texarkana won the boys team title with 150.5 points, eight ahead of Lake Hamilton.

Parkview, with 122 points, won the girls title, followed by Jonesboro with 105.