2 SEA cities to receive grants

Gov. Mike Beebe presented Wednesday grants totaling $2.5 million to 13 Arkansas communities, including two in Southeast Arkansas.

The funds originate from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development through the Community Development Block Grant program.

The area projects were:

• Monticello: $203,000 for a senior center

• Stuttgart: $220,000 for a roof for the community center

The grants will be administered by the Arkansas Economic Development Commission’s Grants Division. To be eligible for CDBG funds, communities must have a population of less than 50,000 and a majority of households earning low to moderate income.

For more information on AEDC’s Grants Division, visit www.arkansasedc.com or call 501-682-1211.