Candidates file for 4th, 2nd district races

LITTLE ROCK — Businessman and former U.S. Senate candidate D.C. Morrison of Little Rock and lawyer and former state legislator Herb Rule of Little Rock filed Wednesday to run as Democrats for Arkansas’ 4th and 2nd district congressional seats, respectively.

Morrison, an agricultural loan broker, ran in 2010 for the Democratic nomination for the Senate seat then held by Blanche Lincoln. Lincoln won the nomination but lost in the general election to Republican John Boozman.

State Sen. Gene Jeffress of Louann and Q. Byrum Hurst of Hot Springs also have filed as Democrats for the 4th District seat. Republicans Tom Cotton of Dardanelle, John Coward of Genoa and Beth Anne Rankin of Magnolia have filed to seek their party’s nomination for the office.

The incumbent, Mike Ross of Prescott, has said he will not run for re-election.

Morrison does not live in the 4th District. Congressional candidates are not required to live in the district they are seeking to represent, though they must live in the same state.

Rule, a lawyer with the Rose Law Firm in Little Rock, is seeking to challenge U.S. Rep. Tim Griffin, R-Little Rock, in the 2nd District. Rule served in the state House of Representatives from 1976 to 1982.

Griffin filed to run for re-election last week.