White Hall, Watson Chapel voters head to polls Tuesday

Tuesday is election day for the city of White Hall. with voters asked to approve a bond issue to finance a proposed community center and aquatics park, and for the Watson Chapel School District, with voters being asked to approve a millage increase to pay for a new elementary school building.

The last day of early voting for both ballot measures will be held from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday at the Jefferson County Courthouse.

Election Day voting will be from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. at designated polling places.

White Hall

White Hall voters are voting on whether to authorize the city to issue up to $4.5 million in bonds for the purpose of building and equipping a community center that would include a gymnasium, walking track, aquatic facilities, classroom and meeting room. The bonds would be paid from an existing 2 percent tax on hotel rentals and prepared foods purchases.

Election Day voting will take place at White Hall City Hall, 101 Parkway Drive, for precincts 711, 712, 713, 714, 721, 731, 732 and 733.

Watson Chapel

Watson Chapel voters are voting on whether to authorize an increase of 2.3 mills to the current WCSD rate of 31.8 mills for the construction of a new kindergarten and first-grade building at Edgewood Elementary School.

Election Day voting will be conducted at Matthews Memorial at West 20th Avenue and U.S. 79 for precincts 301, 302, 303, 306, 307, 308, 309, 310, 311, 312, 315, 316, 317, 323, 417 and 418; Goodfaith-Carr Methodist at 3703 Ryburn Road for precincts 51, 53, 56, 57, 59, 313, 314, 321, 322, 324, 325, 326, and 327; Gospel Temple Baptist Church at 1100 Oakwood Road for precincts 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 413, 414, 415, and 416; and Sulphur Springs Methodist at 9238 Sulphur Springs Road for precincts 52, 54, 55, 58, 66 and 67.

Absentee ballots may be obtained from the county clerk during normal business hours. Absentee ballots will be canvassed and counted in the Jefferson County Election Commission office at 5 p.m. Tuesday, May 14.

Votes cast on Election Day will be canvassed and counted at the election commission office at 7:30 p.m.