Police complete investigations in Isadore death

The Pine Bluff Police Department has completed its investigations into the weekend shooting death of 107-year-old Monroe Isadore, a department spokesman said Wednesday.

“The Isadore case file has been sent to the Jefferson County prosecutor,” Lt. David Price said. “It was dropped off there at approximately 4:20 p.m. Any further questions should be addressed to the prosecutor’s office.”

Prosecuting Attorney S. Kyle Hunter has said he will not comment until he has had an opportunity to review the case file.

Isadore was killed Saturday night when officers with the police department’s Special Weapons and Tactics team entered the bedroom of a house on West 16th Avenue where Isadore was staying.

According to police reports, Isadore fired at the officers as they entered the bedroom and was killed when officers returned fire.

Isadore’s death ended a standoff of approximately three hours that began when he allegedly pointed a handgun at two women inside the house. According to police, Isadore fired through the bedroom door when officers announced themselves, then fired again when officers went to a window to insert tear gas into the bedroom.

Police officials said after the incident that the department would conduct two separate investigations — one an internal investigation to determine whether departmental policy was followed and the other a criminal investigation.

One officer has been placed on paid administrative leave pending the outcome of those investigations. Police officials have declined to name that officer.

Pine Bluff Mayor Debe Hollingsworth said Tuesday night that she believes it would be up to Hunter to ask for an independent investigation by the Arkansas State Police.

If Hunter does make such a request, Hollingsworth said she would welcome an ASP investigation.

On Wednesday, Alderwoman Thelma Walker released a memorandum to ASP Director Col. Stan Witt asking for an investigation. The memo, dated Tuesday, also bears the names of aldermen Charles Boyd, Glen Brown, Bill Brumett, Wayne Easterly, Lloyd Holcomb Jr. and George Stepps.