PB FBI office closed; agents divided up among other cities

Nine Southeast Arkansas counties have been divided up among three Federal Bureau of Investigation offices for enforcement purposes with the closing of the Pine Bluff resident agency, an FBI spokesman said Thursday.

The Pine Bluff office in the George W. Howard Jr. U.S. Courthouse-Federal building was shuttered Sept. 30 as part of a cos-saving measure, said David Shepard, assistant special agent in charge of the FBI’s Little Rock field office.

Shepard said the two special agents assigned to the Pine Bluff office have been reassigned to the Little Rock office.

Agents assigned to the Little Rock office will be responsible for enforcement actions in Jefferson, Arkansas and Grant counties, he said. Dallas, Cleveland, Lincoln, Drew and Chicot counties will fall under the jurisdiction of the El Dorado resident agency, while Desha County has been shifted to the Marion resident agency’s jurisdiction.