No voting Tuesday in school-board election

School board elections in Jefferson County are a non-event this year according to Jefferson County Election Coordinator Will Fox who said that there will be no election day polls Tuesday in the county.

“This year there are no contested school board elections and no millage elections in Jefferson County,” Fox said. “Under Arkansas law all incumbents remain in office until they are replaced so the unopposed candidates do not need any votes to stay in office.”

Fox said the unopposed candidates include Phyllis Wilkins and Leon Jones in the Pine Bluff School District; Connie Medsker in the White Hall School District; and Donnie Hartsfield in the Watson Chapel School District.

“As a public service the state put the current millage rates on the ballot and added the names of the unopposed candidates,” Fox said. “We had early voting by paper ballot only that ended Monday afternoon at the Jefferson County Courthouse.”

“The results will be tallied and recorded Tuesday but they will have no effect,” Fox said.