Dollarway rehires district administrators

The Dollarway School Board, meeting in regular session Tuesday night, unanimously approved a recommendation by Superintendent Bettye Dunn Wright for the rehiring of nine district administrators.

Receiving continuing employment nods for the 2012-13 academic year were Federal Programs and Transportation Director Ruth Bogy, Special Programs/Grants and Testing Director Dornetta Hobbs, Special Education Supervisor Barbara Boyce, high school Principal Arnold Robertson and Assistant Principal Ellis Berry, Robert Morehead Middle School Principal Yolanda Primm, Altheimer Martin Elementary Principal Brenda Barnes, James Matthews Elementary Principal Vera Smith, and Townsend Park Elementary Principal Ernestine Roberts.

The decision followed a 60-minute executive session. The private gathering was moved from the final action item to the first on the agenda at the request of Director Marvin Ray Walker, who did not return to the meeting afterward. Board Secretary Cathy Hunt was absent.

In other business, the board approved:

• The participation of seven district employees in two upcoming conferences. Boyce and Wright will attend a May 7-9 Council for Exceptional Children meet in San Antonio. Morehead Middle School teachers Daniel Beard, Charles Cunningham, Delores Hawkins, James Jones and Shirley Walker will attend the March 29-April 1 National Conference on Science Education in Indianapolis.

• A draft technology plan that must be submitted by March 3 to the Arkansas Department of Education’s Department of Technology for its endorsement.

• Three contracts for district-wide supplemental education services, which are financed by federal Title I funds.

Directors tabled re-zoning and state legislative audit updates.

Director Gene Stewart told his counterparts that he thinks a new district technology building should be named in honor of board President George Stepps, who is in his 25th year on the board.