2 Southeast Arkansas teachers finalists for Teacher of Year

Sixteen teachers from across the state — including two from Southeast Arkansas — will be recognized as Arkansas Teacher of the Year Regional Finalists at 10 a.m. Monday in the Old Supreme Court Room at the Capitol. The top four finalists will be announced at the event.

The local finalists are:

• Laura Beth Place, a 10th- through 12th-grade math teacher at Dumas New Tech High School in the Dumas School District.

• Jenny Tucker, a first-grade teacher at 34th Avenue Elementary School in the Pine Bluff School District.

The Walton Family Foundation is providing a grant allowing for the 16 regional finalists to each receive a $1,000 check. The ATOY Selection Review Committee will conduct classroom site visits with the four state semifinalists. A surprise notification visit will accompany the announcement of the 2014 Arkansas Teacher of the Year.

Details: http://www.arkansased.org/divisions/communications/teacher-of-the-year.