Scholarships availabe for Jefferson County students

Jefferson County students can visit to apply online for more than 200 private scholarships through the Arkansas Community Foundation. Most scholarship applications are due April 1, 2013.

“This is our first year for our new online scholarship application process,” said Heather Larkin, ARCF president and chief executive officer. “We’re pleased to offer this new electronic service in order to conserve resources and increase access for Arkansas students seeking financial support for higher education.”

Each scholarship has its own eligibility criteria; in general, the community foundation’s scholarships are for Arkansas students pursuing higher education at two- or four-year colleges or universities, vocational schools or technical training programs. Some scholarships are designated for graduates of a particular high school or those who plan to attend a particular college. Others are based on extracurricular activities or intended college majors.

Locally, students from Jefferson County are eligible to apply for these scholarships, established for students in the area:

• Abbott Scholarship

• Robert P. Atkinson Hospital Leadership Scholarship

• Bridge Fund Scholarship

• Ed Brown Memorial Scholarship

• Ed and Charleen Copeland Scholarship

• Casey Bess Crowder Scholarship

• Dorothy Ezell DuPree Scholarship

• O.C. Hauber Rotary Scholarship

• Pine Bluff High School Class of 1962 Scholarship

• Jack Robey Scholarship

• Strickland Scholarship

• William A. and Genevieve H. Strong Scholarship

“Funding for these scholarships comes from families, businesses and individuals who want to support higher education and invest in Arkansas students,” said Kelli Kennedy, executive director of Pine Bluff Area Community Foundation ARCF’s local office in the area. “These donors determine the size and eligibility criteria for the scholarships they create, and we manage the scholarship process on their behalf.”

More information is available online at