Governor appoints SEA residents to state boards

LITTLE ROCK — Governor Mike Beebe announced 22 appointments to boards and commissions including these from Southeast Arkansas:

• Rev. Charles Killion of McGehee was appointed to the Commission on Closing the Academic Achievement Gap in Arkansas, replacing Kelly Lyon. The appointment expires March 15, 2013.

• Carla Meadows Martin of Pine Bluff, dean of the School of Business at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, was reappointed to the UAPB Board of Visitors until Jan. 14, 2019.