Awards program to honor outstanding UAPB faculty, staff

In an effort to appreciate those that demonstrate outstanding service in the academic community, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff Interim Chancellor Calvin Johnson has begun a series of annual awards to recognize and reward faculty and staff for excellence in four specified areas: teaching, research or creative endeavors, best staff person and best customer service.

“I wanted to make a special effort to recognize those individuals that go above and beyond the call of duty,” Johnson said. “I want them to know that their tireless service to our students didn’t go unnoticed.”

With the theme, “Honoring Excellence: Performance beyond the Ordinary,” the Chancellor’s Awards Recognition program will be at 5:30 p.m. Monday, May 6, in the L.A. Davis Sr. Student Union lounge. The event is free and open to the public.

The guest speaker for the event will be John Kuykendall III, assistant professor in the Department of Educational Leadership at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.