Wataseka District DAR members hear report on Continental Congress

The Wataseka District of the Arkansas Society Daughters of the American Revolution recently held its district meeting at First Baptist Church in Pine Bluff.

The hostess for the annual meeting was the Pine Bluff-John McAlmont Chapter of the DAR.

Sharon Wyatt, district director of the Wataseka District, presided over the meeting. Norma Caldwell, regent, Pine Bluff-John McAlmont Chapter, gave the welcome. Caldwell discussed some of the many interesting aspects of Pine Bluff such as the downtown murals and museums.

JoAnn Roth Cooper, Arkansas state regent, was the featured speaker. Cooper reported attending the 122nd Continental Congress in Washington, D.C. She said Arkansas was well-represented at Congress and received many awards including second-place winner in the American Heritage Contest, Pine Bluff-John McAlmont Chapter’s, Marjorie Zuber.

Among the many special activities enjoyed by Arkansas members who rode the bus to Continental Congress was a special tour of Mt. Vernon where they had dinner with Martha Washington. Cooper spoke about the newly installed NSDAR President General Lynn Forney Young whose theme is “Honoring Our Heritage-Focusing on the Future-Celebrating America. Cooper went on to report the National Society of DAR now consists of 175,000 members.

After the meeting, members enjoyed a catered meal that was provided by Zelda Hoaglan of Jenkins Industries.

The Wataseka District includes the following chapters: Arkansas Post Chapter, Dewitt; Captain Robert Abernathy Chapter, Warren; Chicot Trace Chapter, Fordyce; Colonel Frances Vivian Brooking Chapter, Hamburg; Colonel David Love Chapter, Monticello; Grand Prairie Chapter, Stuttgart; Pine Bluff-John McAlmont Chapter, Pine Bluff; and Tate’s Bluff Chapter, Camden.