DST to host Jabberwock 2013 at Convention Center

The Pine Bluff Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., will present “Jabberwock 2013,” a talent and variety show, at 6 p.m. Saturday at the Pine Bluff Convention Center arena.

This year’s theme is, “The X Factor: Do You Have What it Takes?”

The idea relevant to the “X Factor” theme refers to the undefinable “something” that makes for star quality. The sorority has searched and located talent from across Jefferson County encouraging the students to enhance their potential for greatness by competing in this upcoming event. Monetary prizes will be awarded to the most inspiring performances selected by five Jabberwock judges.

De’Andre Gates of Watson Chapel High School and Kennedy Debose of Pine Bluff High School will serve as emcees for the event.

Admission for the event is $10 for advance tickets and $15 on the evening of the event. Tickets are available for sale at Fathers and Sons Clothiers, Thomas Groceries and Gifts, University Shop, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff Bookstore, Sheila’s Design and by all members of the Pine Bluff Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.

Jabberwock, a Delta tradition, originated at Iota Chapter in Boston in 1925 and was designed for the encouragement and development of amateur talent by organizing an evening lineup consisting of an array of original talent and skits, presented by youth groups and individuals. Jabberwock participants performed in competition with each other, with non-competitive musicals and dance numbers separating an assortment of acts. The event was an immediate success and many chapters throughout the country adopted the idea, with each chapter putting its individual imprint on their production. The Pine Bluff Alumnae Chapter held its first Jabberwock event as far back as the 1950’s.

Charlene Kelley is President of Pine Bluff Alumnae Chapter. Chairmen for the event are Dovie Burl, Celya Hildreth, Ralynn Ruth and Elizabeth Taylor. Other committee members are Tonia Ailsworth, Evelyn Blunt, Dorothy Brown, Angie Campbell, Deshona Collins, Erica Cooper, Frances Dalton, JoAnn Davis, Loretta Davis, Mary Flowers, Sharon Hardin, Marisa Harris, Delores Hawkins, Mae Hawkins, Alice Horton, Vickie Hicks, Connie Jackson, Etta Kuykendall, Nicolette Laurent, Birlee Lever, Andrea McBeth, Shawn Mitchell, Dana Mooney, Karla Rice, Amanda Wells, Dana Woolfolk and Tonda Wright.