Delta Sigma Theta to host Economic Development Forum

The Pine Bluff Alumnae and Delta Eta chapters of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., will host an Economic Development Forum on Saturday, beginning with registration at 8:30 a.m. The workshop will be held from 9 a.m. to noon.

All activities will be held at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, in the large auditorium in the School of Business and Management. The theme for the workshop is “Create a Plan: Entrepreneurship, Financial, and Estate Planning.”

The forum presenters will be Lemarcus R. Coleman, Joanna Edwards and Everlyn Clay Bryant.

Coleman, a native of Pine Bluff, will speak on the topic, “Entrepreneurship 101.” Coleman graduated from Pine Bluff High School and received his bachelor of science degree in business administration with a concentration in marketing from UAPB. He attained a master of business administration at the Ken Blanchard School of Business. Coleman functioned in a management capacity for a couple of Fortune 500 companies prior to entering the financial industry on behalf of others. His love of the industry led him to seek a doctorate in business administration with a concentration in portfolio risk management. He now serves as the founder and chief executive officer of Augustus Capital Management, LLC, a registered investment advisory firm. He is also the founder and managing partner of Coleman and Company Consulting, a business consulting firm specializing in emerging firms and strategic management projects.

Edwards, a faculty emeritus from UAPB, will talk on the topic, “Wills and Trusts: Forming Family Corporations.” From 1994-2009, Edwards served as a professor of humanities in the Department of English, Theatre, & Mass Communications at UAPB. She offered public service in Pine Bluff, Jefferson County, and the state of Arkansas as a member of the African American Advisory Community of the Arkansas Arts & Science Center of Southeast Arkansas. She was an Advisory Board member of the Arkansas Institute for Holy Land Studies and was a member of the Legislative Closing the Achievement Gap Commission. She was recognized in January 2008 with the “Trailblazer Award,” given by the Arkansas Martin Luther King Jr. Commission at its annual Awards Gala.

Bryant, who holds a bachelor of science degree in business administration from UAPB, will talk on the topic, “Estate Planning & Management.” With her husband, Joe Bryant Jr., they are farmers by trade. Joining her husband 32 years ago, they managed 250 acres to owning and operating more than 2700 acres. Their business is known as J.N. Bryant Jr. Farms Partnerships, which is currently being managed by their son, Joe N. Bryant III. About four years ago, Bryant retired from full-time farming to a new career at UAPB, where she is employed in the School of Agriculture, Fisheries & Human Sciences in the area of Outreach and Technology Transfer Unit.

This program is free and open to the public. Refreshments will be served.

Bettye J. Williams is the Program Planning and Development chair for the Pine Bluff Alumnae Chapter. Renisha Ward is the co-chair and Charlene Kelley is the president. For Delta Eta Chapter, Bonita Corbin is the primary adviser and Brittany McBride is the president. Sanetra Sloan is Program Planning and Development chair.

Other members on the Program Planning and Development Committee are Monica Bones, Shelia Brown, Dovie Burl, Shirley Carey, Corbin, Donna Cunningham, JoAnn Davis, Mary Grant, Celya Hildreth, Shirley Jacob, Betty Jo Lacy, Bessie Lancelin, Nicolette Laurent, Mary Morgan, Eamestine Nelson, Karla Rice, Tarji Russell, Ralynn Ruth, Dora Sanders, Hazel Smith, Elizabeth Taylor, Katrina Tate and LaTonya Thomas.

For more information, contact Bettye J. Williams at 870-536-3073 or