Audubon Society names officers, plans upcoming events

The Three Rivers Audubon Society recently elected new officers.

Officers include Barbara Rhinehart, president; John House, vice president; Mary McBee, secretary; and Carolyn Theis, treasurer. Directors are Eloise Fite, archives; Delos McCauley, field trips; Geoff Wright, conservation; Marde Clardy, membership; Claire Holmes, publicity; Corinne Hunter, newsletter; Kay Cromwell, education; and Hazel McCauley, past president.

An officers’ retreat was held at Cook Lake to discuss plans for the coming year. Plans included participation in the Lawn and Garden Show, the Great Backyard Bird Count and Earth Day on April 19. A birding class will be taught at the Shepherd’s Center beginning today.

The June 1 brown bag lunch picnic will be at Cook Lake and will include hummingbird banding. All these events are open to the public.

For more information, contact Claire Holmes at 870-534-2083.