Alpha Rho Chapter of AKA to present Mr. AKA Pageant

The Alpha Rho Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc., will present its annual Mr. AKA Pageant today at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff Fine Arts Auditorium.

Doors will be open at 6:08 p.m., and the pageant will start at 7:08 sharp. The donation is $5 at the door.

The theme is “Men In Black” (Pink & Green Edition).

The purpose of the event according to Brianna Ingram, pageant chairman, is three-fold, “first to raise money to help find a cure for breast cancer, secondly, to seek a gentleman to escort Miss AKA during homecoming and thirdly he will help Alpha Rho Chapter spread the good news about the good things that are happening at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and encourage top students to attend our wonderful university.”

The young men who will be competing in the pageant are:

• Brandon Wright, a sophomore business major from Memphis, Tenn.;

• Joshua Farmer, a senior business marketing major from Little Rock;

• Kyzyl Tenpenny, a freshman industrial tech major from Little Rock;

• Lawrence Staggers, a freshman criminal justice major from Little Rock;

• Mac Braggs, a freshman business management major from Elaine;

• Daniel Former, a senior mass communication major from Memphis;

• Mark Robinson, a freshman agriculture/fishery major from St. Louis;

• Dejun Neely, a sophomore broadcast journalism major from Chicago

According to co-chairman, Myeshia Parker, “all eight of the young men possess academic excellence, they are well-liked by the UAPB student body and I feel that any one of them would represent our chapter well.”

They will compete in the following categories: swim wear, best swag, talent and answer an intellectual interview question. The first runner-up will win the title Mr. 1908 and the second-runner up will win the title of Mr. Pink and Green. Mr. AKA will be crowned by the reigning Miss Alpha Kappa Alpha, Porchia Roberts, a broadcast journalism major from West Memphis.

The judges for the pageant are Student Government Association president, Obum Nwankwo, Toni McCastle and Monique Benford, both members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Delta Omega Omega Chapter.

Proceeds from the pageant will be donated to the Susan G. Komen Foundation.

Jasmine Gaston serves as chapter president and Rachel Hornbuckle serves as vice president.

For more information, contact Gaston at or Mattie P. Collins at