Alpha Phi Alpha to celebrate 106th Founders Day

The Delta Sigma Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity will celebrate the 106th Founders Day of its fraternity at 6:30 p.m. Dec. 4 at St. James United Methodist Church, 900 University Drive.

The speaker for this year’s event is Dr. Kenneth J. Lambert. Lambert is an obstetrics and gynecology physician with over 20 years of experience. He is a native Arkansan and was reared in Bearden. He has practiced in Pine Bluff at Jefferson Regional Medical Center for the last 10 years. He also serves as clinical faculty at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, where he provides academic support for the AHEC- Family Practice Residency in Pine Bluff, providing comprehensive healthcare services for women. Lambert is a 1982 graduate of the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, where he received his bachelor of science degree in biology; a 1988 graduate of UAMS, where he received his medical degree; and a 1992 graduate of Tulane University School of Medicine, where he received his post graduate training in OB/GYN. He is board certified by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology. He is a member of the Arkansas Medical Association, Arkansas Medical, Dental & Pharmaceutical Association and Southeast Arkansas Medical Network. He became a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity in 1979 and is his also a member of the Pi Boule.

This year’s program will honor three individuals:

• Gregory Murray is the 2012 Brother of the Year. Murray is a graduate of Watson Chapel High School, and a 1993 graduate of UAPB with a degree in accounting. He is currently employed with the Department of Community Correction as the assistant HR administrator. He was initiated into the Delta Sigma Lambda Chapter in 1997. He has served as recording secretary, treasurer, chair and co-chair of the chapter’s Toward the Light Mentoring Program and co-chair of the chapter’s Valentine’s Dinner/Dance each year. He is a member of Gospel Temple Missionary Baptist Church, where he serves as an usher and sings in the choir. He is president of the Pine Bluff Titans Little League Football team.

• Irene Holcomb is the 2012 Citizen of the year. She is a currently serving her last term as a member of the Pine Bluff City Council, a position she has held for 23 years choosing not to seek re-election. She is a native of Altheimer and a graduate of Arkansas AM&N College (now UAPB). She taught school at Blytheville in Mississippi County for five years and has 35 years of teaching experience including a span in the Little Rock School District. She currently is the senior member of the Pine Bluff City Council.

• Parnell McCray is being honored for being a member of the fraternity for 50 years. McCray was initiated into the Gamma Delta Chapter in 1962. He is currently a member of the Delta Sigma Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha. He holds a bachelor’s degree and master’s degree in mathematics and statistics and has all of his hours except for the dissertation towards his doctorate degree. He attended AM&N, Perdue University, the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville and Florida State. He is married to Jacquelyn McCray and they have one son, Michael McCray. He has served in numerous roles while a member of the fraternity, including president.

Alpha Phi Alpha, the first intercollegiate Greek letter fraternity established for African-Americans, was founded at Cornell University at Ithaca, N.Y., in 1906. The fraternity initially served as a study and support group for minority students who faced racial prejudices, both educationally and socially. The organization is now international with more than 175,000 members and has included such prominent members as Martin Luther King Jr., Thurgood Marshall, Andrew Young and Adam Clayton Powell. The fraternity’s mission is to develop leaders, promote brotherhood and academic excellence while providing service and advocacy for the community.