Jefferson County youth participate in district competition

Competition brought out the best in Jefferson County 4-H youth during the Delta District O-Rama, held recently on the campus of East Arkansas Community College at Forrest City.

4-Hers competed in activities conducted by the University of Arkansas-Division of Agriculture Cooperative Extension Service. First place trophies were captured by three youth with two others picking up second and three placing third. All Jefferson County 4-H competitors placed and received ribbons for their efforts.

Those participating were Jonathan Burgess, Madison Clark, Ryan Clement, Lydya Deshazier, Shaunell Henderson, Katelynn Lanni, Kristen Lanni, Tevin Livingston, Allison Morrisey, Tierra Williams and Ariana Woods.

Adult volunteers were Ruby Deshazier, Tomeisha Henderson, Terri Lanni, Tumiga Livingston and Carolyn Morrisey. Jefferson County Extension staff members, Michaela Howard, Lucinda Minton, Anthony Whittington and Pia Woods assisted with the event.

The county 4-H delegation also received a plaque for exhibiting the most county spirit during the event’s opening assembly.

For more information about 4-H in Jefferson County , call 870-534-1033 or e-mail

• • •

University of Arkansas, United States Department of Agriculture and County Governments Cooperating.

The Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service offers its programs to all eligible persons regardless of race, color, national origin, religion, gender, age, disability, marital or veteran status, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.