Beebe names chief of staff to UA Board of Trustees

LITTLE ROCK — Gov. Mike Beebe on Monday appointed his chief of staff, Morril Harriman, to the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees.

The appointment was one of 37 appointments to state boards, commissions and a judicial seat that the governor announced.

“Morril has been my best friend and most trusted ally throughout my political career,” Beebe stated in a news release. “It comes as no surprise that he wants to continue his public service, and I am confident that the U of A Board will benefit from his experience and wisdom.”

Harriman, 63, has served as Beebe’s chief of staff since Beebe took office in 2007. He will continue to hold that position while serving on the university’s board, Beebe spokesman Matt DeCample said.

Harriman is a former president of The Poultry Federation and was a state senator for 16 years. He earned both his bachelor’s and law degrees from UA.

A Little Rock resident, Harriman replaces Sam Hilburn of North Little Rock. The appointment expires March 1, 2024.