16 communities awarded $3 million in HUD grants

LITTLE ROCK — Sixteen Arkansas cities and counties will receive $3.3 million in Community Development Block Grants, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development announced Wednesday.

The grants will be administered by the Arkansas Economic Development Commission’s Grants Division. To be eligible for CDBG funds, communities must have a population of less than 50,000 and a majority of households earning low to moderate incomes.

Those communities awarded in Southeast Arkansas:

—Dallas County, senior center, $203,000

—Dallas County, neighborhood facility, $216,000

And elsewhere in the state:

—Alma, senior center, $203,000

—Cave City, child care center, $325,000

—Cove, street improvement/drainage, $150,382

—Crawfordsville, library, $99,000

—Dewitt, neighborhood facility, $213,220

—Harrison, community center, $78,000

—Jericho, road/street improvements, $216,000

—Marianna, road/street improvements, $212,000

—Morrilton, senior center, $203,000

Counties awarded:

—Columbia County, childcare center, $165,000

—Hempstead County, public health facility, $325,000

—Lonoke County, neighborhood facility, $216,000

—Saline County, neighborhood facility, $216,000

—Stone County, food pantry, $60,000

—Woodruff County, senior center, $203,000