Four aldermen races set in Pine Bluff for November

Voters in Pine Bluff this November will go to the polls to decide four alderman races as the result of independent candidate filings, which wrapped up at noon Friday.

In Ward 1, incumbent Thelma Walker, who defeated a challenger in the May Democratic primary, will take on the Rev. Jesse Turner, who filed as an independent July 25.

In Ward 2, incumbent Wayne Easterly filed as an independent Wednesday and will face Democrat Glen Brown Jr., who had no opposition during the primary.

Incumbent 3rd Ward Alderman Bill Brumett, who defeated two challengers in the May Democratic primary, will be challenged by Reginald Johnson, who filed as an independent just before the Friday noon deadline.

In Ward 4, incumbent Steven Mays, who defeated an opponent in the May Democratic primary, will be challenged by Lewis T. White, who filed as an independent Thursday.

The positions of Pine Bluff mayor, city clerk and city treasurer were not up for election.

In addition to the contests in Pine Bluff, three mayor’s positions are being contested in Jefferson County this year, as residents of Altheimer, Redfield and Humphrey will chose between candidates.

In Altheimer, there is a three-way contest between Zola Hudson, Donald Bruce Robinson and Samuel L. Kelley; Humphrey residents will decide between Rodney Henderson and Ronnie Carr; and in Redfield, James (Smitty) Smith and Herman Carter are both seeking the job.

Others who filed for office before the deadline and the office they’re seeking are as follows:

City of White Hall

Mayor - Noel Foster

City Clerk/Treasurer - Ellen Kay Welch

City Attorney - Tom Owens


Ward 1, Position 1 - Andrew Lunsord

Ward 1, Position 2 - Ken Smith

Ward 2, Position 1 - Scott Ray

Ward 2, Position 2 - Franklin (Beaver) Johnson

Ward 3, Position 1 - David Beck

Ward 3, Position 2 - Joel Foster



District 1, Position 1 - Blanchie Laws

District 1, Position 2 - Linda Gipson and Jessie Culclager

District 2, Position 1 - Shenola Allison, Travis D. White Sr. and Kim Love

District 2, Position 2 - Lester Hudson


Mayor - Myra T. Edwards


Position 1 - Robert L. White

Position 2 - GEary Don Robnson and Cleollia Robinson

Position 4 - Robert Sloan

Position 5 - Commeka Goodloe



District 1, Position 1 - Albert Esquibel and Donald Combs

District 1, Position 2 - Michael (Porky) Hodges

District 2, Position 1 - Cleveland Hatch

District 2, Position 2 - Eddie W. White

District 3, Position 1 - James (Jimmy) D. Carr Jr.

District 3, Position 2 - Chad Burgess



District 1, Position 1 - Glen Flemmons

District 2, Position 1 - Sandra Garrett

District 2, Position 2 - Larry O’Briant

District 3, Position 1 -Diane Smith and Allison Oates Beasley

District 3, Position 2 - Darrell Hedden and Adell Newton


Mayor - Jody Campbell

Recorder-Treasurer - Mauricene Blackwell


Position 1 - Lucille Hawkins and Archie Blackwell

Position 3 - Anita V. Mitchell

Position 4 - Joy Binns

Position 5 -Christine Blair