Redfield named an Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year

Twelve communities — including Redfield — have been selected to receive the 2013 Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year Award.

The communities were chosen for the award based on efforts by volunteers working in each community. Redfield, Murfressboro and Vilonia were recognized for the first time. Bentonville, Blytheville, Clarendon, Clarkridge, Fayetteville, Fort Smith, Heber Springs, Norfork and Van Buren, which are past award winners, also were chosen as 2013 winners.

“We are proud to recognize these communities for their volunteer spirit. Their volunteers work hard to make sure area needs are met and that makes these communities better places for everyone to live,” said Sherry Middleton, director of the DHS Division of Community Service and Nonprofit Support.

The award presentations will take place at the Arkansas Municipal League’s Winter Conference, which will be held Jan. 29-31, 2014, in Rogers.