Flu shots to be administered at county schools

The Jefferson County Health Unit of the Arkansas Department of Health in conjunction with Dollarway, Pine Bluff, Watson Chapel and White Hall school districts in Jefferson County will be providing seasonal flu shots to students at schools beginning Tuesday and continuing through Dec. 13.

Health officials encourage residents to receive flu vaccine every year, because different strains of the flu are in circulation every year. This year’s vaccine protects against the flu viruses that research indicates will cause the most illness during the upcoming season.

School children will be bringing home a consent form with the date that the flu vaccine will be given and a fact sheet about the seasonal flu vaccine. If parents want their children to receive a flu vaccine, available in either the shot or nasal spray, they must sign and return the form. Children will not be able to receive the vaccine without signed parental permission.

If you have insurance, the Health Department will ask your insurance company to pay for the cost of giving the vaccine. If you do not have insurance or your insurance company does not pay, the vaccine will be available at no charge to you.

Contact persons for each district are as follows:

Dollarway School District

Greg Lancelin

Cell 870-413-0734

Pine Bluff School District

Tasha Woods

Cell 870-872-2206

Watson Chapel School District

Kathy Wells

Cell 870-550-4646

White Hall School District

Virginia Grimes

Cell 501-658-2644

Jefferson County flu shot school clinics schedule are in order by date as follows:

White Hall School District


8:30 a.m. Hardin Elementary, Redfield

12:30 p.m. Moody Elementary, White Hall


8:30 a.m. White Hall High School

October 15

8:30 a.m. Taylor Elementary

806 West Street

October 16

8:30 a.m. White Hall Middle School

SEARK Nursing School


1 p.m.-3 p.m. 1900 Hazel St.

Dollarway School District

October 18

8:30 a.m. Robert F. Moorehead Middle School

12:30 p.m. Townsend Park Elementary

October 22

8:30 a.m. James Matthews Elementary

Watson Chapel School District

Oct. 23

8:30 a.m. Watson Chapel High School

Oct. 29

8:30 a.m. Coleman Intermediate School

Oct. 30

8:30 a.m. Watson Chapel Junior High School

Nov. 5

8:30 a.m. Edgewood Elementary School

Nov. 8

8:30 a.m. L. L. Owen Elementary

Pine Bluff School District

Dec. 4

8:30 a.m. Thirty-Fourth Avenue Elementary School

1 p.m. Jack Robey Junior High School

Dec. 5

8:30 a.m. Southeast Middle School

1 p.m. Pine Bluff High School

Dec. 6

8:30 a.m. Forrest Park Pre-School (housed in the old Greenville Elementary building)

12:30 p.m. Belair Middle School

Dec. 11

8:30 a.m. Southwood Elementary School

12:30 p.m. Oak Park Elementary School

Dec. 12

8:30 a.m. Broadmoor Elementary School

12:30 p.m. Pine Bluff School District

Dec. 13

8:30 a.m. First Ward Alternate School (sixth grade – 12th grade) and Central Office personnel

Noon Kids First, UAMS

University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff

Oct. 31, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Health Services, Brown Infirmary Building

Pine Bluff Lighthouse Charter School

Nov. 7, 8:30 a.m.

Quest Middle School (Charter School)

Nov. 7, 1 p.m.

Jefferson County Mass Flu Clinic

Oct. 25, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Pine Bluff Convention Center