Federal Disaster Declarations for Arkansas counties

LITTLE ROCK — Responding to requests from Gov. Mike Beebe, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack issued disaster declarations in response to earlier drought conditions in the following several counties.

These include Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Little River, Lonoke, Miller, Monroe, Nevada, Ouachita, Phillips, Prairie, Pulaski and Union counties.

Qualifying farmers will be eligible for federal aid, including emergency loans.

A declaration providing flood-related aid in Mississippi includes several Arkansas counties that are contiguous to the declared region including Phillips County, Crittenden and Lee counties.

Farmers who feel they may qualify for this federal aid should contact their local Farm Service Agency office.