Republican Women install new officers at recent meeting

The Jefferson County Republican Women recently held their Christmas meeting at the Pine Bluff Country Club.

New officers for 2014 were installed by outgoing president, DiAnn Jones. New officers include Ann Forrester, president; Bivian Hale, first vice president; Kim Beatty, second vice president; Susan Over, secretary; and Carolyn Fendley, treasurer.

Awards were presented to Edith Wilson and Kim Beatty, 2013 JCRW Volunteers of the Year. The annual Community Service Award for 2013 went to a duo of Pine Bluff gentlemen who have worked extensively to improve life for the youth of the city by working with the parks department to install basketball goals in city parks. Certificates were presented to Leslie McEntire and Bennie Hatcher (posthumously). McEntire and his wife, Pat, have worked extensively over the past few years to reach agreements with the city and possibly the schools to have these specially designed goals — designed by McEntire — for the youth to use.

After lunch, a program of contemporary Christmas carols was presented by Annette Rushing.

The group meets at the Pine Bluff Country Club on the second Thursday of each month.