PB women sworn is as U.S.D. 1812 bicentennial members

During the bicentennial of the War of 1812 all new members admitted to the United States Daughters of 1812 in Arkansas are designated as bicentennial members. At the recent 100th State Council for U.S.D. 1812, 13 bicentennial members were sworn in by vice president national Mary Webster Glenn of Texas.

Sworn in were Sheila Moore Mitchell and Sandra Poore of Pine Bluff; Bernice Brakefield and Kay Tatum of Little Rock; Carol Porter, Susan Veal, Judy Robbins and Mitzi Hunter of Hot Springs Village; Judy Coleman, Margaret McGrew and Mary Anne Riehart of Hot Springs; Kimberly Jones of Vilonia; and Mary Miller of Batesville. The bicentennial members sworn in were presented with a 200th Anniversary War of 1812 lapel pin by Glenn.

The U.S.D. 1812, founded in 1892, is a volunteer women’s service organization. Among its objectives are dedication to promoting patriotism; preservation of United States history; and the teaching and emphasizing the heroic deeds of the civil, military, and naval life of those who molded this government between the close of the American Revolution and the close of the War of 1812.

For information regarding the activities of the Arkansas State Society U.S.D. 1812, contact Sheila Beatty at 501-915-0456.