Longtime members recognized during DST Founders’ Day celebration

The Pine Bluff Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. recently held its Founders’ Day celebration, commemorating 101 years of scholarship, sisterhood and service.

The celebration was held at the Pine Bluff Country Club. The speaker was Mae Francis Rowlett, the director for the Southwest Region, which is comprised of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Texas and the Bahamas. Rowlett’s message focused on the sorority’s theme for the biennium — “Uncompromising commitment to Communities: Service, Leadership, Empowerment”.

The celebration of sisterhood was a day of refocusing, reflection and rejuvenation. The sorority members enjoyed the message from the regional director, as well as, the Delta Singers. Bessie Lancelin and Joan Davis served as co-chairs of the music committee. Myrtle Withers composed and presented a poem titled, “Tribute to Our Founders.”

Two sorority members were recognized for 25 and 50-year memberships in Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. Melissa Brown Lusk was initiated in Delta Eta Chapter in 1989 and Dorothy Lovell Chatman Brown was initiated in Delta Eta in 1964.

Sorority members enjoyed sharing moments from their era of initiation. Special moments were shared by Carolyn F. Williams, initiated in Gamma Gamma Chapter at Philander Smith College in 1957, and Fran Dalton, initiated in Beta Upsilon at Virginia Union in 1958.

The event culminated with sorority members attending worship service at St. Peter’s Rock Baptist Church, 1201 Catalpa St.

Founders’ Day Committee tri-chairs were Betty Lacy, Tonya Lemons and Linda Simmons. Charlene Kelly is the president of the chapter.