Local U.S.D. 1812 member receives individual award

Susan Railsback of Pine Bluff received an individual award when the United States Daughters of 1812 recently held its 122nd annual Associate Council in Washington D.C.

Representatives from Arkansas were Honorary State President Virginia Frost of Camden and Arkansas State President Sheila Beatty of Hot Springs Village.

The Arkansas Society was honored with 25 awards including the top membership growth in the United States Trophy. The awards represent the state society’s accomplishments in historical preservation, education, patriotism and support of military and veterans. Other individual awards were presented to Beatty, Hot Springs Village; Jeanette Frahm, Hot Springs Village; Jo Ann Cooper, Jonesboro; and Kay Tatum, Little Rock.

The U.S.D. 1812, founded in 1892, is a volunteer women’s service organization. Among its objectives are dedication to promoting patriotism; preservation of United States history; and the teaching and emphasizing the heroic deeds of the civil, military, and naval life of those who molded this government between the close of the American Revolution and the close of the War of 1812. Membership in U.S.D. 1812 is open to any woman who can prove her direct lineage back to an ancestor who rendered civil or military service from the close of the Revolutionary War to the close of the War of 1812 (1784-1815).

For membership information, contact Frahm at 501-922-9220.