Audubon Society elects officers, directors

The Three Rivers Audubon Society recently elected officers and directors at a meeting in the home of Robert and Barbara Rhinehart.

Officers elected were Barbara Rhinehart, president; John House, vice president; Mary McBee, secretary; and Carolyn Theis, treasurer.

Those elected as directors were Eloise Fite, archives; Kay Cromwell, education; Delos McCauley, field trips; Frances Taylor, conservation; Marde Clardy, membership; Claire Holmes, publicity; and Mary and Phil McBee, newsletter.

The officers and directors recently attended a planning meeting held at Cook Lake, an Arkansas Game and Fish Commission installation near Stuttgart.

Plans for the year include bird-watching walks on Tuesday mornings, participation in the Home and Garden Show, where pine cone bird feeders are made, teaching a bird identification class at the Shepherd Center, reporting the results of several worldwide bird counts throughout the year, and sending students to Halberg Ecology Camp.

The camp scholarships are funded by the group’s annual birdseed sale in the fall.